The 16th Classic Rally, Island of Majorca kicks off with lots of excitement and more than one hundred teams

- Seb Pérez with his 1975 Porsche Carrera RS, leads the Speed ranking

More than 100 classic racing treasures have started from Puerto Portals, initiating the sixteenth edition of the Classic Rally Island of Majorca, one of the most important motor tests in Europe, which gathers great national and international pilots in the Balearic island, and which is consolidated every year as one of the benchmarks of international sport events.

The fearless pilots behind the wheel of classic sports cars, will enjoy and test their abilities in the spectacular races of Majorca, along more than 600 km and 14 legs which comprise this test. This year, ‘The Pearl of Rallies’ counts with the number one pilots of motorsport, such as the Austrian champion of classics and the current champion of the test, Rosenberger, as well as the three-time champions of the competition Oberdorster and Dominik An der Heiden, or the great Spanish pilots Galiana, Tacho, and the former Fórmula 1 pilot, Adrián Campos.

The first day has kicked-off with the leg “Estallencs – Andratx”, that has been led by the British team formed by Seb Pérez and Gary McElhinney, who have maintained their leadership at the second and last section of the day “Andratx-Capdellà”. After winning both nocturnal legs, which have given a start to today’s race, they earned and advantage of more than 30 seconds in relation to the second classified, Pérez, with his 1975 Porsche Carrera RS, who strives to claim victory for the first time in this championship, although there are still many legs ahead.

Their main rivals this year, seem to be Becker/Hochweller’s German team with a 1978 Porsche 911 SC Sanremo and Galiana/Flor’s Majorcan team ad their 1976 Ford Escort. Sadly, we have to mention the drop at the first leg of the current champion, Rosenberger, due to a mechanical failure in his 1981 Porsche 911.

Within the Regularity category, the Majorcan team formed by the pilot Nadja Rothkirch and the copilot Juana M. Font, started as leaders of the classification, at the wheel of their 1972 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia, and they hold the first position of the test ranking; the three first positions are completed by the Majorcan teams Castañer/Lasanta at the wheel of a 1970 Porsche 911 and Verger/Barceló with their 1973 BMW 2002.

Tomorrow, the pilots will face six new legs where they will have to measure their abilities and skills at the wheel, along breathtaking roads such as the legendary leg of Sa Calobra, that counts with a snaky 12-kilometre slope, and its famous 360-curve ‘tie knot’.