Rockanrolla conquers the III Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series

Nono, Martin Pälsson’s Swedish ship has been granted with the title in the Corinthian category for non-professional boats, and Siegfried Detzkeit’s Dino has won the Best Classic Dragon.

The ship Rockanrolla has claimed victory in the third edition of the Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series. The Russian boat, skippered by Dmitry Samokhin, and crewed by Kasper Harsberg and Andrdey Kirilyuk, has been the steadiest one all throughout the three events comprising this Dragon Class group stage.

Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series’ last day, has taken place under a SW wind that has veered South and has reached a ten-knot intensity, finally subsiding as the competition progressed.

The first round began at 11.45 am. At the start, five ships have been disqualified as they were positioned outside the starting line, and halfway along the race, the Regattas’s Committee had to change the route due to a wind shift of 20 degrees left.

Evgenii Braslavets’ Bunker Prince has conquered the race, making up for yesterday’s poor performance, as they were disqualified at the drawing of the black flag. The second place was held by Benjamin Morgen’s Rosie;and the Swedish Nono, owned by Martin Pälsson, achieved a third place.

Making the most of the good weather conditions, the Committee initiated the second round of the day at 13.30 pm, being the eleventh and last round of these Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series. Once more, five ships have been disqualified for early start, amongst them, the Spanish ship Latinia, with Guillermo Altadill at the helm.

The drop in wind, especially pronounced after passing the third beacon, has required a cut down of the route in this last race, where Dirk Pramann’s Ingrid has finally prevailed. Bunker Prince has crossed the finish line in second place and after it, Anatoly Loginov’s Annapurna has finished in third position.

With regard to the teams who fought for the final victory, Rockanrolla has clearly outweighed the rest. The Russian team, led by Dmitry Samokhin has reached the decisive day with great timing results, and they were able to sail more conservatively today, obtaining 18 and 7 partials.

Klaus Diederichs’ British boat, Fever, has finished in second place, and the Swedish Nono has leaped up to the podium’s third place, thanks to this last day’s brilliant performance. The ship, skippered by Martin Pälsson has obtained the trophy for the best team in the Corinthian category, reserved for non-professional crews.

The honour roll of the III Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series has been completed with Siegfried Detzkeit’s Dino, winning the Best Classic Dragon.

The III Puerto Portals Dragon Winter Series has ended today, but Calvià’s marina will still remain being the landmark of this category, as two forthcoming events expect to gather once more the best fleet of the continent. From March 20th to 22nd, Puerto Portals IV Mediterranean Cup will be disputed, and the grand finale will happen from April 20th to 26th at the European Dragon Class Championship.